head home registration programm info contact maps


International Workshop

Evangelische Akademie Tutzing, Germany, 13-16 September, 2021

Because of the uncertain situation with respect to the COVID-19 pandemic, Tutzing 2021 will be virtual and the next in-person meeting is scheduled for September 2023 (following the regular 2-year interval).

The topic of the virtual meeting is “Resilience - lessons from basal metazoans” focusing on what early metazoans can teach us about (the biology of) resilience, regeneration, developmental plasticity, the role of the microbiome, and neuronal function, among others.

We do not want to add days of screen time to your (our) already packed online-meeting schedule, but we really would love to stay connected as a community.

The meeting is scheduled to run on September 14 -15 2021 (CET), each day featuring a ~3 hour session that starts as follows:

September 14, 2021: Start - 11pm PT, 8am CET, 4pm EAT

September 15, 2021: Start - 7am PT, 4pm CET, 12am EAT

We are very excited that our invitations for the inspirational talks have been accepted by Maja Adamska (Australian National University, Canberra) who will share with us insight on the genomic and evolutionary basis of animal development and Iñaki Ruiz-Trillo (Institut de Biologia Evolutiva, Barcelona) who will be talking about the origin of multicellularity.

The plenary talks will be followed by a series of short talks selected from the abstracts that you can submit when submitting the attendance form (invitation via email).

The program can be found here